Honorary Degrees Committee 2017-2018

The Committee on Honorary Degrees consists of members of the Yale board of trustees, faculty members nominated by the president, a member of the University Council nominated by the Council, and alumni nominated by the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Association of Yale Alumni. 

Members of the Board of Trustees 

Maureen C. Chiquet ‘85 B.A. (Chair)

Eve Hart Rice ‘73 B.A. 

Kevin P. Ryan ‘85 B.A.

Annette Thomas ‘93 Ph.D.

Lei Zhang ‘02 M.A., ‘02 M.B.A.

Alumni Members

Valentino D. Carlotti ‘88 B.A.

Sarah Elizabeth Lewis ‘15 Ph.D.

Laura R. Walker ‘87 M.B.A.

William Schwalbe ‘84 B.A.

University Council 

Tom A. Bernstein ‘74 B.A., ‘77 J.D.


Harold W. Attridge
Sterling Professor of Divinity

Melvin Chen
Deputy Dean, Yale School of Music; Associate Professor of Piano

Nicholas Christakis
Sol Goldman Family Professor of Sociology and Professor in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies, of Biomedical Engineering, of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and of Medicine (General Medicine)

Ruslan Medzhitov
Sterling Professor of Immunobiology

Mary Miller
Sterling Professor in the History of Art; Senior Director of the Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage Art 

Sekhar Tatikonda
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and of Statistics and Data Science