Wolfgang Leonhard Prize in Russian and East European Studies

WOLFGANG LEONHARD PRIZE IN RUSSIAN AND EAST EUROPEAN STUDIES. Established by the gift of James Leitner, B.A. 1975, the prize honors a distinguished former member of the faculty in Russian and East European Studies. Awarded to the senior who has written the most outstanding senior essay related to Russia or East Europe. Submission deadline: April 21 2023, 3:00 p.m. Submit essays by email .

Andrew D. White (1902)

ANDREW D. WHITE (1902). First awarded in 1907, the gift of Professor Guy Stanton Ford of the University of Illinois in honor of Andrew D. White, B.A. 1853; endowed by a bequest from Mr. White. For the best essays, one in American history, one in European history, and one in third-world history by freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and graduate students and for the best essay in European, English, or third-world history by a junior, senior, or graduate student.

Winifred Sturley (1984)

WINIFRED STURLEY (1984). Richard A. Sturley, B.E. 1949, M.Eng. 1950, and Michael F. Sturley B.A. 1977, J.D. 1981, in honor of Winifred Sturley, M.A. Hon. 1955. Awarded to the student in the History Department who submits the best senior essay on a topic in English history.

John Addison Porter - American History Prize (1901)

JOHN ADDISON PORTER-AMERICAN HISTORY (1901). Mrs. Porter in memory of her husband, John A. Porter, B.A. 1878. To a junior or senior for the best original essay completed during the current academic year on a subject bearing upon the political, constitutional, or economic history, condition, or future of the United States. Essays submitted by seniors majoring in American history in fulfillment of the major requirement are considered as entered in competition.

George Washington Egleston (1901)

GEORGE WASHINGTON EGLESTON (1901). George Washington Egleston of Eardisley, Herefordshire, England, brother of Thomas Egleston, B.A. 1854, and William C. Egleston, B.A. 1861. For the best essay on American history completed by a resident student during the current academic year. Doctoral dissertations presented in the Department of History in the appropriate field are considered as entered in competition.

Richard Hegel Prize for a Senior Essay on New Haven (2001)

RICHARD HEGEL PRIZE FOR A SENIOR ESSAY ON NEW HAVEN (2001). Sponsored by the Yale Club of New Haven, the Hegel Prize was awarded for the first time in celebration of Yale’s Tercentennial year. The prize is named in honor of Richard Hegel because of his enduring commitment to the partnership of the University and the City of New Haven. The Hegel Prize is to be awarded for an outstanding senior essay pertaining to the greater New Haven area. Senior essays from any department of Yale College are eligible.

Subscribe to RSS - History