Yale Corporation

The Yale Corporation is the senior policy-making body for Yale University and advises on numerous issues. Compared to the governing boards of other educational institutions, the Yale Corporation is smaller and plays an unusually active role in University governance. The Yale Corporation has nineteen members: the President of the University; ten Successor Trustees, who elect their own successors to up to two six-year terms; six Alumni Fellows, who are elected by the alumni for staggered six-year terms; and the Governor and Lieutenant Governor of the State of Connecticut, ex officio. Read more.

University Council

The University Council was established in 1947 as an advisory body to the President of the University for the purpose of studying and making recommendations on particular facets of University life. Council members are generally drawn from the University alumni population and are appointed by the Yale Corporation on nomination by the President. Read more.

Governance and Historic Documents

Since 1701 with the adoption by the Connecticut Legislature of the Charter “to erect a Collegiate School,” Yale University has been guided by the Charter, including subsequent amendments, the By-Laws of the Corporation first promulgated in 1795, and the Miscellaneous Regulations which codified a series of policies and procedures such as the Alumni Fellow election process, protection of the Yale name and patent protection. The By-Laws and Miscellaneous Regulations may be amended from time to time upon vote of two-thirds of the Fellows. In addition, throughout Yale’s history the President has appointed committees to explore important topics, and the recommendations of those committees shaped and influenced Yale’s governance and administration. Read more.

Alumni Fellow Election

Yale alumni vote each spring to elect one new alumni fellow to serve a six-year term on the Yale Corporation, the University’s governing board. The Office of the Secretary conducts the election. Read more.

Honorary Degrees

Since the commencement of 1702, the Yale Corporation has awarded honorary degrees to recognize outstanding achievement. Currently, the honorary degrees awarded annually at the University’s Commencement are the highest honors conferred by Yale. From Martin Luther King, Jr. to Frank Lloyd Wright and Cole Porter, those who have received honorary degrees represent collectively the aspirations of this institution. Recipients over the years have been models of excellence and service to our students, to our graduates, to our community, and to the world. Read more.

Sheffield Scientific School

The Yale Scientific School was founded in 1854 and renamed the Sheffield Scientific School in 1861 after a generous donor. The School’s Board was incorporated in 1871 to promote the study of the physical, natural, and mathematical sciences in the School. Read more.